top of page

Welcome to


Communication Systems


at School of Electrical Engineering,


We are devoted to advanced research on novel wireless communication systems including massive MIMO, millimeter-wave communications, vehicular-to-everything (V2X) systems, and distributed communications (or device-to-device communications for Internet-of-Things), which will be core technologies for the 5G cellular system and beyond. Our research methodologies exploit many novel analytical tools in signal processing, probability theory, optimization, random matrix theory, compressive sensing, and machine learning.

Lab. News

Hwanjin has been selected for the 2023 NRF Post-Doctoral Overseas Training (with Prof. David J. Love at Purdue) in May 2023.

Yongjun received the 2022 Fall KAIST CoE Leadership Award in Apr. 2023.

Junil has been selected as a 2023-2025 Distinguished Lecturer by the IEEE Vehicular Technology Society

Hwanjin received the 2022 KAIST EE Best Ph.D. Dissertation Award in Apr. 2023.

Beomsoo, Gyoseung, and Namhyun successfully finished their M.S. defenses in Dec. 2022.

Sucheol successfully finished his Ph.D. defense in Dec. 2022. 

Hyesang and Beomsoo received the Excellence Prize at the '22 14th ICT Academic Paper Competition.

Junil received the 2021 IEEE ComSoc CTTC Early Achievement Award in the 2022 IEEE Communication Theory Workshop (CTW)

Junil received the 2022 IEEE Vehicular Technology Society Best Vehicular Electronics Paper Award.

Miyeon participated in the 2022 Qualcomm IT Tour visiting HQ in San Diego in Aug. 2022.

Junil has started serving IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications as an Associate Editor from Aug. 2022.

Junil has started serving IEEE Transactions on Communications as an Associate Editor from Aug. 2022.

In-soo, Hwanjin and Taegyun successfully finished their Ph.D. defenses in Jun. 2022. 

Hwanjin received the 2022 KAIST Global Leadership Award (Creativity).

Sunghyuck received the 13th ICT Excellence Award.

Hwanjin received the Silver Prize at the IEEE Seoul Section Student Paper Contest 2021.

In-soo and Minje received the IITP Presidential Award at the ICT Colloquium 2021 Creative Capstone Project.

Sucheol, Hyeongtaek and Jihoon received the best paper award at the KICS Fall Conference 2021.

Junil received the 2021 IEEE Vehicular Technology Society Neal Shepherd Memorial Best Propagation Award.

Junil promoted to an Ewon Associate Professor (endowed outstanding young faculty) from Sep. 2021.

In-soo and Hwanjin received NRF Research Subsidies for Ph.D. Candidates.

Hwanjin received the 2020 KAIST EE Best Research Achievement Award (Kim Choong-Ki Award).

Minje received KEPCO Electrical Engineering Scholarship.

Junil has been appointed as an Ewon Assistant Professor (endowed outstanding young faculty) from Mar. 2021. 

Junil received the 2020 Technology Innovation Excellence Award from KAIST.

Hwanjin, Sucheol and Hyeongtaek received the best award, and  In-soo received the excellent award at the 12th ICT paper competition.

Hyesang received the best paper award at the KICS Summer Conference 2020.

Junil gave a talk at the KAOS lecture series.

Junil received the 2019 IEEE Communications Society Stephen O. Rice Prize.

Junil received the 2019 Haedong Young Researcher Award from KICS.

Sucheol received the 11th ICT Excellence Award.

One paper appeared in IEEE Best Readings in Machine Learning in Communications - Topic: Resource Allocation

Junil had an interview with NRF Korea.

Junil has started serving as an IEEE Open Journal of the Communications Society editor from Sep. 2019.

Junil joined KAIST as an assisstant professor in Aug. 2019.

bottom of page